October 2, 2022

It’s simple to install the Bulletin App on your smart phone or iPad:
If you have an Android phone, connect to the Bulletin’s website
— https://northplattebulletin.com

Look at the bottom of the screen for the install command. Tap. Then, install.
If you have an iPhone or iPad:
The Bulletin icon will appear on the page of your home screen where there is space for a new icon. Look for it and move it to the front page for handy access.
This process creates a web app on an Android phone. A web app lives on your phone. It is easy to access. It does not always require an internet connection.

Dave Wight
by: Zach Wendling, Nebraska News Service – Sep. 19, 2022
David Wright of Ewing will not appear as a nonpartisan candidate for governor in November. Wright conducted a statewide petition drive but failed to meet two signature requirements.
Wright ran on a platform of instituting the consumption tax, leading to the reconstruction of the state’s tax structure, lowering property taxes in the process.

Secretary of State Bob Evnen’s office announced Sept. 13 that Wright submitted 4,339 signatures to the Secretary of State’s Office, with 3,712 able to be verified. This also meant Wright fell short in needing at least 750 signatures from each of Nebraska’s three congressional districts, as the tossed signatures meant he had only 747 verifiable in the second district, just three signatures short.
November’s election will include Republican Jim Pillen, Democrat Carol Blood and Libertarian Scott Zimmerman, another candidate, Robert Borer, aaying he will mount a write-in campaign.
Read more from the Nebraska Examiner’s Aaron Sanderford here.

Malcom X to be inducted into Nebraska Hall of Fame
The Nebraska Hall of Fame Committee voted by a narrow, 4-3 margin to add Malcolm X as its next inductee, adding the civil rights leader after he had been nominated twice earlier.
Malcom X was born in Omaha.

According to the Nebraska Examiner, the Hall currently has 26 members — five are female, three are Native American — and Malcolm X will become the first African American. 
The commission also considered inducting Louise Pound, an educator, folklorist and author at the University of Nebraska. Pound is also the only woman in NU history to earn a letter in a men’s sport — tennis.
Read more from the Nebraska Examiner’s Paul Hammel here.
Suzanne Geist first to announce candidacy for Lincoln mayor
State Sen. Suzanne Geist of Lincoln officially announced for bid for the 2023 Lincoln mayoral race.
Geist, a Republican, has represented District 25 in the Legislature since 2016 and is the first to enter the race. She presents a challenge to incumbent Mayor Leirion Gaylor Baird, a Democrat who is expected to announce her second term reelection bid later this year.
Read more from the Lincoln Journal Star’s Chris Dunker here.

Two candidates qualify for Omaha race to complete Pahls’ legislative term
Secretary of State Bob Evnen confirmed on Sept. 13 two candidates have submitted enough valid petition signatures to appear on November’s ballot to complete the term of State Sen. Rich Pahls of Omaha, who died at the end of April.
Both State Sen. Kathleen Kauth, who Gov. Pete Ricketts appointed to fill Pahls’ seat, and Tim Royers, who ran for the seat in 2020, qualified for the ballot. Kauth is the president of K.T. Beck Enterprises, a mediation and conflict coaching firm, and Royers is president of the Millard Education Association.
Kauth will continue to hold the seat through at least Jan. 3, per state law. The election is to fill the remainder of Pahls’ term through January 2025.
Read more from the Omaha World-Herald’s Martha Stoddard here.

Ricketts appoints interim replacements for corrections director, fire marshal
Gov. Pete Ricketts has appointed two individuals to replace the state’s outgoing corrections director and fire marshal.
Diane Sabatka-Rine will replace Scott Frakes as head of the Department of Correctional Services while Doug Hohbein will replace Chris Cantrell and become interim fire marshal.
Sabatka-Rine’s appointment is official on Oct. 8, and she will be the first woman to lead the department, dating back to 1856. Hohbein has worked with his agency since 1985 and will take over on Oct. 15. Both were second-in-command of their respective areas.
Read more from the Lincoln Journal Star’s Andrew Wegley here.

Senators sign pledge to end secret ballots for committee chairs
Seventeen of Nebraska’s state senators have signed onto a pledge from Charles Herbster’s new political action committee that would end the Legislature’s system of electing committee chairs by means of secret ballot.
Opponents argue the move would put more control in the hands of the Nebraska GOP. The majority of state senators are registered Republicans. Some senators may be unwilling to select someone from the opposing party.
The following senators have signed the pledge, and several candidates for the legislature have signed as well: Sens. Joni Albrecht of Thurston, John Arch of La Vista, Bruce Bostelman of Brainard, Tom Brewer of Gordon, Tom Briese of Albion, Rob Clements of Elmwood, Robert Dover of Norfolk, Steve Erdman of Bayard, Suzanne Geist of Lincoln, Ben Hansen of Blair, Steve Halloran of Hastings, Mike Jacobson of North Platte, Kathleen Kauth of Omaha, Lou Ann Linehan of Elkhorn, John Lowe of Kearney and Dave Murman of Glenvil. Speaker of the Legislature Mike Hilgers of Lincoln also signed the pledge.

© 2022 The North Platte Bulletin. All rights reserved.
Talk Back has been disabled by the Author.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.